Tippecanoe School Corporation
TSC teacher named Top 10 finalist for Indiana Teacher of the Year
Sue Scott

The Indiana Department of Education named East Tipp Middle School engineering and technology teacher Sharita Ware as a top 10 finalist for Indiana Teacher of the Year.

Ware is in her tenth year of teaching in the TSC and holds a bachelor’s degree and master's degree from Purdue Polytechnic Institute. In addition to teaching engineering and technology classes, Ware hosts afterschool programs such as FIRST Lego League, the Monday Maker Hour and March Maker Magic, which gives students an outlet to be innovative and creative. 

Ware says her teaching style challenges students to explore, analyze and research to come up with real-world problems. “It’s not so much about getting it right or perfect, but understanding there are many ways to solve problems that help make life better,” says Ware. “It sometimes takes multiple tries to come up with a good solution. That is what engineering is all about. There are no limits to success.”

Ware is honored to be selected as one of the top ten teachers in Indiana this year. “I think about the students and experiences that have made me a better teacher over the years,” says Ware. “I hope that I can continue to be a great example for my students, colleagues, and families.” 

Each year, the Indiana Teacher of the Year Program (INTOY) works to inspire, rejuvenate, and celebrate the teaching profession by recognizing outstanding teachers from across the state. The 2022 Indiana Teacher of the Year will be named later this fall.

The 2022 Indiana Teacher of the Year Top 10 Finalists are:

Lisa Clegg, Fort Wayne Community Schools
Susan Davis, South Bend Community School Corporation
Robert DeRuntz, Duneland School Corporation
Daniel Jones, Perry Township Schools
Jaime Lamkin, Clarksville Community Schools
Brayton Mendenhall, MSD Wayne Township
Gwyn Skrobul, Kankakee Valley School Corporation
Sarah TeKolste, Indianapolis Public Schools
Sharita Ware, Tippecanoe School Corporation
Jennifer Yoder, Goshen Community Schools